Biography

JENS MAHLSTEDT is a DJ, music producer and composer. He writes scores for theatre and film as well as soundtracks for experimental fashion shows, teaching the latter at Hochschule Hannover, Faculty of Media, Information and Design.

He has played every half decent techno and house club in Europe as well as every Love Parade througout the Nineties, E-Werk Berlin, Energy Rave Zurich, Mayday etc. Residencies at Beehive (Berlin), Opera House (Hamburg), Maxx and T-Dance (Bremen) have put him on the DJ map.

Mahlstedt teaches music for experimental fashion shows at Hochschule Hannover, Faculty of Media, Design and Information since 2007. Recent results include presentations at Kunstmuseum Celle in 2007 and Hannover´s Museum August Kestner in 2008, every Modepreis Hannover since 2009, Light On Hannover at Neues Rathaus Hannover 2011, Restlos at the Vertretung des Landes Niedersachsen in Berlin 2012 plus Nach Neuem Trachten at Schloss Bückeburg and Anglomaniacs & Union Jackets at Niedersächsisches Landesmuseum Hannover 2014. In 2015 Nach Neuem Trachten is being shown at Berlin Fashion Week and Expo 2015 in Milan as well.

Shakespeare´s classic plays TWELFTH NIGHT (Bremen 1990) and HAMLET (Bonn 1996), A CLOCKWORK ORANGE from Anthony Burgess (Dresden 1998) and Friedrich Schiller´s DON CARLOS (Wiesbaden 2004, showing three consecutive seasons) all get the Mahlstedt treatment under Andras Fricsay´s slick direction. He remixes Frederick Loewe´s complete score for MY FAIR LADY (Hamburg 2000, directed by Frank Buecheler). In 2005 he produces soundtracks for Friedrich Dürrenmatt´s THE PHYSICISTS in Berlin (showing four consecutive seasons) and Shakespeare´s THE TEMPEST in Wiesbaden, again directed by Fricsay. Carlo Goldoni´s TRILOGY OF SUMMER is showing at Gandersheimer Domfestspiele in 2014. He produces music for the world premiere of Karsten Laske´s TERRORKIND, directed by Tim Stefaniak (Würzburg 2016) and writes scores for the Ulrich Cyran directed plays DIE KLEINE HEXE (Alzenau 2016) and DIE FAMILIE SCHROFFENSTEIN (Frankfurt/Main and Bad Vilbel 2017).

The Eighties

In 1987 Mahlstedt starts DJing at West Berlin club Beehive. His style: Rare Groove, Funk, Hip Hop – and Chicago House which just starts crossing over to Europe. The owners of Beehive take Mahlstedt to Hamburg where he plays at Shag/Caesar´s Palace, the very first House club on the notorious Reeperbahn in 1988. He becomes resident of the legendary Opera House on Große Freiheit where he spins for many years. From 1989 to 94 he adds another residency at the Maxx/Bremen, and from 1993 he organizes the T-Dance together with Steve Bug at Modernes/Bremen.

The Nineties

At Love Parade 1992 Gerret Frerichs (of Humate fame) offers his production skills to Jens – with some considerable success. The remixes of „Loops & Tings“ (1993) become one key release in German Techno history. Since then, „Loops & Tings“ has been remixed more than 70 times by various artists and keeps being caned around the globe. „Loops & Tings Relooped“ hits the No. 1 spot in Germany´s ODC for several weeks in Spring 2004. Markus Schulz and Ferry Corsten are currently going off with their version of the classic.

Jens Mahlstedt works as a radio presenter for the SFB and Radio 4U/Berlin and as an editor for magazines like Network Press, Cut and Boom throughout the early Nineties. In 1994/95 he mixes the first five Bonus CDs of the popular Trance Nation series. Remixes for Lazonby, Eskimos + Egypt, Yello or Tokyo Ghetto Pussy, Josh Wink´s Size 9 and Team Deep or Casseopaya are added to his production list.

In 1995 Jens moves to London, after years in Berlin, Bremen and Hamburg. In his first own studio right behind Victoria Station he works on club music and on his soundtracks. He compiles his favorite Bert Kaempfert tracks for “20 Easy Listening Classics”, released in 1995 on Polydor. And a mix compilation entitled MIND CONTROL Vol.1 on Push Communications, now a sought after classic, impressively shows his wide spectrum of styles in 1997.

In 1998 Mahlstedt releases his debut album „Monkey Island“ on Superstition Records. Two singles, „Schwupp“ and „Gong Show“ are taken from the album.

The Years 2000

Jens teams up with Techno brother-in-mind Steve Mason (of BFBS fame) as 2 Bald Men in 1999. They release on Steve´s London based label Experience 2000. The two baldies morph into Sly Fidelity & Clubfoot in 2002. They release a series of breakbeat tracks on various english labels such as Rennie Pilgrem´s 10 Kilo. The tracks go down well with the breakbeat massive on the island being spun from London´s East End to the southern shores of Brighton.

He writes a score for the six DVD series called “Das Bizarre Lexikon” for smut´n´sleaze masters Goldlight, released in 2005 and 2006. Meanwhile, THE PHYSICISTS are showing four sold-out seasons at Berlin´s slick Deutsches Theater. Jens works with André Winter and contributes to the soundtrack of UNRELATED (winner of FIPRESCI prize at London Film Festival 2007), a psycho drama by London based director Joanna Hogg, now available on DVD. His current projects include Sucker Punch with Berlin based TOFU DJ partner Sean Patrick.

In the last few years Mahlstedt keeps returning to assorted House- and Techno clubs like Berlin´s TOFU at Bohnengold. In 2017 he starts the Yeah Yeah Club at Bremen´s Schauspielhaus focussing on his own musical roots playing Funk, Disco and Rap with DJ partner Gu.

Mr. Mahlstedt now lives in Northern Germany where you will find him working away on the moors in his countryside studio.

Biografie

JENS MAHLSTEDT ist DJ, Musikproduzent und Komponist. Er schreibt Soundtracks für Theater und Film, vertont experimentelle Modenschauen und lehrt dies an der Hochschule Hannover, Fakultät Medien, Information und Design.

Zehn Jahre Love Parade (1991-2000), E-Werk Berlin, Energy Rave Zürich, Mayday (The Raving Society) in Berlin und europaweite unzählige Gastspiele in allen wichtigen Clubs sowie Residencies im Beehive (Berlin), Opera House (Hamburg), Maxx und T-Dance (Bremen) machen ihn als DJ bekannt.

Musik für experimentelle Modenschauen unterrichtet Mahlstedt seit 2007 an der Hochschule Hannover, Fakultät Medien, Information und Design. Aktuelle Ergebnisse dieser Tätigkeit sind Inszenierungen für das Kunstmuseum Celle 2007 und das Museum August Kestner Hannover 2008, der jährliche Modepreis Hannover seit 2009, Light On Hannover im Neuen Rathaus Hannover 2011, Restlos in der Vertretung des Landes Niedersachsen in Berlin 2012 sowie 2013 Nach Neuem Trachten im Schloss Bückeburg und Anglomaniacs & Union Jackets im Niedersächsischen Landesmuseum Hannover 2014. Nach Neuem Trachten wird 2015 auf der Berlin Fashion Week sowie der Expo 2015 in Mailand gezeigt.

Die Shakespeare-Klassiker WAS IHR WOLLT (Bremen 1990) und HAMLET (Bonn 1996), CLOCKWORK ORANGE von Anthony Burgess (Dresden1998), alle unter der Regie von Andras Fricsay, MY FAIR LADY (Hamburg 2000, Regie Frank Buecheler) sowie Friedrich Schillers DON CARLOS (Wiesbaden 2004-2007), DIE PHYSIKER von Friedrich Dürrenmatt (Berlin 2005-2009) und Shakespeares DER STURM (Wiesbaden 2005), Regie Andras Fricsay, haben Mahlstedt-Soundtracks. Carlo Goldonis SOMMERFRISCHE (Regie Thomas Klenk) läuft im Sommer 2014 auf den Gandersheimer Domfestspielen. 2016 entstehen Musiken für die Uraufführung von Karsten Laskes TERRORKIND, Regie Tim Stefaniak (Würzburg) sowie DIE KLEINE HEXE (Alzenau), Regie Ulrich Cyran. Zurzeit in Produktion ist DIE FAMILIE SCHROFFENSTEIN (Frankfurt/Main und Bad Vilbel 2017), erneut unter Ulrich Cyrans Leitung.

Die Achtziger

Im Sommer 1987 fängt Mahlstedt im Berliner Club Beehive an, Platten aufzulegen. Sein Stil damals: Rare Groove, Funk, HipHop und Chicago House, der gerade nach Europa abzustrahlen beginnt. Die Macher des Beehive schleusen Jens nach Hamburg, wo er ab 1988 erst im Shag, Caesar´s Palace, dem ersten House-Club der inzwischen musikalisch vielfältigen Reeperbahn-Meile, und dann lange Jahre Resident des legendären Opera House im Grünspan auf der Großen Freiheit wird. Von 1989 bis 1994 macht der gebürtige Bremer im Maxx zu Bremen seine Heimatstadt systematisch und stilsicher mit Techno vertraut. Ab 1993 veranstalten Steve Bug und er monatlich den richtungsweisenden T-Dance im Bremer Modernes.

Die Neunziger

Auf der Love Parade 1992 bietet Gerret Frerichs (Humate) Jens seine Produzententätigkeit an. Mit Erfolg: Die Loops ´n Tings-Remixes werden der 12“-Longseller der deutschen Techno-Geschichte. Inzwischen existieren von diesem Titel mehr als 70 Versionen verschiedener Interpreten. „Loops & Tings Relooped” klettert im Frühjahr 2004 mal eben einige Wochen auf Platz Eins der ODC, der Nachfolger “Never Be The Same” erscheint mit Remixen von Jesper Dahlbäck und JussiPekka. Zur Zeit feiern sich Markus Schulz und Ferry Corsten mit dem Titel.

Jens Mahlstedt arbeitet in den Neunzigern als Moderator für den SFB und Radio 4 U in Berlin und als Redakteur für Magazine wie Network Press, Cut und Boom. 1994/95 mixt er die ersten fünf Bonus-CDs der Trance Nation-Serie. Remixes für Lazonby, Eskimos & Egypt, Yello oder Tokyo Ghetto Pussy, Josh Wink´s Size 9 und Team Deep oder Casseopaya folgen.

1995 verlegt Jens nach Jahren in Berlin, Bremen und Hamburg seinen Wohnsitz nach London, der Stadt seiner Träume. Im ersten eigenen Tonstudio gleich hinter der Victoria Station entstehen neue Tunes und Soundtracks. Kein Freund von Schubladendenken jeder Art, stellt Mahlstedt 1995 seine Lieblingstitel des unsterblichen Bert Kaempfert für Polydor zusammen. Und für Push Communications mixt er die gesuchte Compilation ´Mind Control Vol. 1´ im Jahr 1997.

1998 folgt sein Debüt-Album „Monkey Island“ beim Hamburger Label Superstition Rec. Auskopplungen daraus sind „Gong Show“ und „Schwupp“, das vor allem im Steve Rachmad-Remix knallt. Seit Mai 1999 produziert Jens Mahlstedt mit Steve Mason, zunächst für dessen Label Experience 2000, Tech House und Funky Techno. Mit „Acid Phonk“ gelingt den beiden im selben Jahr ein weiterer Klassiker, der viele DJ-Charts anführt.

Die 2000er

Seit 2002 produzieren Steve Mason und Jens Mahlstedt als Sly Fidelity & Clubfoot Breakbeats und veröffentlichen diese auf verschiedenen renommierten englischen Labels, darunter Rennie Pilgrems 10 Kilo. Die Maxis laufen erfolgreich in der vitalen Breakbeat-Szene der Insel, vom Londoner East End bis in die Clubs der Südküste Brightons.

DIE PHYSIKER laufen vier ausverkaufte Spielzeiten lang am Deutschen Theater Berlin. DON CARLOS und DER STURM rocken das schläfrige Wiesbaden. Für die Smut´n´Sleaze-Meister Goldlight vertont er 2005 und 2006 die sechsteilige DVD-Reihe „Das Bizarre Lexikon“. Jens proudziert 2007 mit André Winter und liefert Musik für den Soundtrack des Psychodramas UNRELATED (Gewinner des FIPRESCI-Preises beim London Film Festival im Oktober 2007) der Londoner Regisseurin Joanna Hogg, auch auf DVD erhältlich.

Das aktuelle Projekt Sucker Punch mit dem Wahlberliner Sean Patrick hinterlässt erste Spuren.

Herr Mahlstedt lebt im Norden Deutschlands, wo er ein Studio im Grünen betreibt. Schöne Aussichten.